Seven Wonders of the World 2023 | See Seven Wonders of the Modern World and Old World

Seven Wonders of the World 2023: What are the Seven Wonders of the World? They were first identified about 2200 years ago by Herodotus and Callimachus.

These wonders were a list of seven amazing things in the ancient world that people were in awe of. They were called the Seven Wonders of the Old World.

  • Great Pyramid of Giza
  • Hanging gardens Of Babylon
  • Statue of Zeus at Plympia
  • Temple of Artemis
  • Mausoleum mausoleum
  • Colossus of Rhodes
  • Lighthouse of Alexandira

Out of the seven wonders, only the Great Pyramid of Giza still exists and has been recognized separately from the original seven.

Unfortunately, the others have been destroyed over time. Many engineers and researchers from different countries have created their own lists of wonders, but there is no agreement among them at a global level.

Seven Wonders of the Modern World

Back in 1999, people were talking about bringing the Seven Wonders to the public in a new and exciting way. To make this happen, a group called the New 7 Wonder Foundation was formed in Switzerland.

They created a website in Canada that had information about 200 different artworks from around the world. Then they asked people to vote for their top 7 favorites from those 200.

The New 7 Wonder Foundation held a project where people could vote for their favorite wonders using the internet or their phone. About 100 million people participated!

If someone used the internet, they could vote for 7 wonders at once. But if they used their phone, they could vote multiple times. The voting period ended in 2007 and the results were announced on July 7, 2007 in Lisbon.

Name of wonderConstructionPlace
wall of chinain the seventh century BCChina
petra100 BCJordan
Taj Mahal1648India
Christ Redeemer1931Brazil
machu picchuAD 1450Guava
colosseumAD 80Italy
chichen itzaAD 600mexico

New 7 Wonders of the World

  • Chichen Itza
  • Christ The Redeemer
  • The Great Wall of China
  • Petra
  • Taj Mahal
  • Roman Colosseum
  • Machu Picchu

Machu Picchu

Machu Picchu

Machu Picchu is a famous city in Peru, South America, that used to be located on a high hill. It was home to the Inca civilization during the 15th century, who built it under the leadership of King Pachacuti.

Despite being located at an altitude of 2430 meters above sea level, the Inca settled there and made it their home. However, after the Spanish conquered the region 100 years later, the city was abandoned and left to decay.

In 1911, an American historian named Hiram Bingham discovered Machu Picchu and brought it to the attention of the world. Today, Machu Picchu is a popular tourist destination and one of Seven Wonders of the World, where visitors can see the amazing artwork and architecture of the Inca civilization. UNESCO has recognized its cultural and historical significance by declaring it a world heritage site.

Chichen Itza

Chichen Itza

Chichen Itza is an ancient Mayan temple in Mexico that was built around AD 600. It is a big city with a high population and is one of the oldest archaeological sites in Mexico. Every year, 1.4 million tourists come to visit Chichen Itza.

The temple is located in the Yucatan State and is spread over 5 kilometers. The pyramid-shaped temple is 79 feet high and has stairs on all four sides. It has 365 stairs in total, with 91 stairs on each side. Each step is said to represent a day.

At the top of the temple is a big platform for 365 days. Other buildings in Chichen Itza include the Pyramid of Kukulkan, Temple of Chak Mool, Hall of Thousand Pillars, and a playground for prisoners. It is one of the biggest Mayan temples and one of Seven Wonders of the World.

Christ The Redeemer

Christ The Redeemer

The world’s biggest statue of Jesus Christ, who is seen as the savior of the world and one of Seven Wonders of the World, It is located in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. It stands 38 meters tall (about 130 feet) and 28 meters wide, and is made of granite and stone.

The construction of the statue started in 1922 and it was installed on 12 October 1931. The statue is situated on the hill of Corcovado, 700 meters high in the city of Rio, and it weighs around 635 tonnes. It’s a huge symbol of Christianity that is known throughout the world.

The Great Wall of China

The Great Wall of China

The Great Wall of China is a huge wall that was built by rulers many years ago to protect their kingdom from enemies. It was built in different parts over several centuries, and now it looks like a big fort.

The wall is made of soil, stone, brick, wood, and other materials. It’s really strong and big, which is why it’s called “Great”. Even from space, people can see how huge it is!

The wall is about 6400 kilometers long, and it’s 35 feet high. It starts in the east and goes all the way to the west. The wall is so wide that 10-15 people can walk in it comfortably.



Petra is a historical and archaeological city located in South Jordan. It is known as one of the Seven Wonders of the World. The city’s architecture is made by carving rocks and it has an excellent drainage system for water.

The stone-cut artwork in Petra is red in color, which is why it is called the Rose City. It was built around 312 BC and is a famous tourist destination in Jordan.

The tall temple in Petra is the main attraction, but there are also beautiful ponds and canals that are worth seeing. Many people come to Petra to admire its beauty every year.

Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal

The Taj Mahal is a famous monument in India that is known as one of the Seven Wonders of the World. It was built by Shah Jahan in 1632 as a tribute to his wife Mumtaz, and it’s made entirely of white marble.

The Taj Mahal is surrounded by a beautiful garden and a water channel. Its intricate artwork and unique shape make it a wonder to behold. It took 15 years to build, and after it was finished, the emperor cut off the hands of all the workers involved so they couldn’t make anything as beautiful again.

The Mughal rulers of India were known for their craftsmanship and artistic skills, and many of their creations can still be seen in India today. People from all over the world visit the Taj Mahal to see its breathtaking beauty.

Roman Colosseum

Roman Colosseum

This is a really big stadium in Rome called the Idli. It’s a popular tourist spot in Rome. It was built between 72 and 80 AD and is shaped like an oval.

It was made using concrete and sand. Even though it’s very old, it’s still considered one of the Seven Wonders of the World. It was damaged by an earthquake, but it’s still very big.

It can seat between 50,000 and 80,000 people and is used for animal fighting, sports, and cultural events. It’s spread over 24,000 square meters. Many engineers have tried to figure out how it was built, but it’s still a mystery.

About The Author

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top