How to Safely Give Your Phone to Someone Else

From a nephew There’s someone who wants to play games for a few minutes, a friend who wants to see your vacation snaps, a stranger who needs to call, people who want to borrow your phone.

When you think about everything your phone gives you access to – social media profiles, banking details, instant messenger conversations, photos and videos the world doesn’t see, etc. – it’s a huge privacy and security risk.

However, there are ways to hand your phone to someone else without having to worry about what they will do with it. You should make sure that you take some precautions before the exchange takes place.

Table of Contents

iPhone

Guided access

Guided Access is built into iOS

A feature you should know about on the iPhone is called Guided Access, and you can enable it by opening iOS Settings and selecting it Convenience And Guided access. turn over Guided access Toggle the switch and the feature is ready—make sure you use it Passcode settings To set a passcode to protect Guided Access mode.

To actually turn on Guided Access, you need to triple-tap the Home button if your iPhone has one, or the Side button otherwise. Then you can tap options To configure how Guided Access works: You can restrict access to the volume buttons, for example, the software keyboard. You can also turn off touchscreen functionality and limit Guided Access mode. pressing Get started Enables Guided Access.

Anyone using an iPhone will be locked into the current app, so you’ll need to open the app in question—a phone app, a specific game, or whatever—before you triple-tap a button on your device to launch Guided Access. You exit Guided Access by pressing the same button three more times, at which point you’ll need the passcode you set initially.

Without a passcode, someone using your iPhone can’t get out of the app you put them in—no way to switch apps, open Control Center, or even turn off the phone. However, it’s worth knowing the app they’re in and what they can do in that app: If you show someone your photos, they can access them all.

Related: Apple’s Lockdown Mode aims to combat spyware threats

Leave a Reply